Each uploaded Photo exists just once in your account in the Photo Library. The Photo Library gives you access to all Photos uploaded into your account. Once a photo is in your library, it can be placed in as many albums as you like. Each Photo Album calls up an instance of the singular Photo in your Photo Library rather than making a duplicate of it.
When you delete a Photo from a Photo Album, the Photo is removed from the album but still exists in the library (and any other Photo Albums in which it was inserted. When you delete a photo from your Photo Library, it is permanently deleted from your account and is removed from all Photo Albums in which it was inserted. Learn more about deleting Photos.
There are two ways you can delete a Photo Album:
- You can delete a Photo Album using the Photo Album organization tools.
- You can delete a Photo Album from within the Photo Album editing mode.
Using the methods described above, this will only delete the Photo Album and not the photos in the Photo Album. If you want to delete the photos along with the Photo Album, you will need to click on the red “Delete Album & Photos” button on the left side of the screen when you are editing your Photo Album.